T.S. Eliot’s “The Waste Land” Line 128

O O O O that Shakespeherian Rag-

It’s so elegant

So intelligent

“What shall I do now? What shall I do?”

“I shall rush out as I am, and walk the street

“With my hair down, so. What shall we do to-morrow?

“What shall we ever do?”

A grudging admiration of Stephen Dedalus’s dissertation of Shakespeare’s suggested intimacy with his work, Hamlet? It’s been said that Eliot read Ulysses before it was published,  and I can’t help but wonder whether there is a connection. Perhaps he was venting, pissed that he didn’t think of it first, ha ha. Isn’t it queer that I stumbled onto that line while re-reading that particular chapter of Ulysses? A chance coincidence or sublime synchronicity? Ahh, it matters not in the propagation of ideas. It doesn’t have to be right or true when conceived, only feasible… at least until its verification or expugnation.

Leave a Reply

