Where is Katie Waitman?

Having penned two very remarkable books, The Merro Tree in 1997 and The Divided in 1999, she has remained alarmingly silent. Perusals of her name in various search engines brought up no relevant information as to the whereabouts of Katie Waitman dated after 1999. These books, especially The Merro Tree, have remained with me for many years, their passages resounding as strongly in the halls of memory as other novels that have impacted me, like The Stars My Destination and Dark Tower, to name a few. Quite remarkable for first novels. Mikk of Vyzania is not a forgettable character, and the promise of more stories that detail his adventures is just too unbearable after almost an decade of silence. Writer’s block? Disease? Death? God knows, but one can only hope she is alive and well. And that there is a second Mikk of Vyzania novel.

26 responses to “Where is Katie Waitman?

  1. In the midst of this possible hawk twice sighting, I sometimes wonder if I’m the butt of some secret derision. Despite my naivete in some things and the uniformed nature that my words often possess, I’m just glad this is a place where somebody with a delicious, well-stocked Popular Culture fetish is able to “let loose.”

  2. A man fell from the sky, landing on the earth with a thud heard around the world. Lying face down in the middle of a vast desert under the sweltering June sun, the man moved about and reached behind his back, his hand searching for something. He came across a pair of flesh wounds, screaming like a wild beast in a world of pain and suffering, and turned to face the sky.

    “My precious wings!” the hawkman squawked. “Damn you, Sam, for taking them away!”

  3. I had not meant to take away your wings. Your freedom is no less than it was before. At least now this allows you to take up an occupation in the law industry.

    The Jay and the Peacock

    A Jay venturing into a yard where Peacocks used to walk, found
    there a number of feathers which had fallen from the Peacocks when
    they were moulting. He tied them all to his tail and strutted
    down towards the Peacocks. When he came near them they soon
    discovered the cheat, and striding up to him pecked at him and
    plucked away his borrowed plumes. So the Jay could do no better
    than go back to the other Jays, who had watched his behaviour from
    a distance; but they were equally annoyed with him, and told him:

    “It is not only fine feathers that make fine birds.”

  4. I’m just reading The Divided, and was checking the web for other books by Katie Waitman. I was very surprised to find only two, and those being out of print.
    If she left the writing business because she had a bigger success somewhere else, then so be it, but I sure hope she is well, wherever she is.
    The Divided is an awesome book, and I’m really looking forward to reading The Merro Tree.

    It is strange, though, that there are really no traces of her to be found on the internet…

  5. yeah, i haven’t really found any relevant information about her or her unpublished sequel either…I guess all we can do is hope that she is able to contiue writing and finds a good publisher. Hope for the best, since she is really talented

  6. Looking for Katie Waitman – not for the usual reason. Are you the daughter of Stan & Norma, our good friends from Belmont & San Mateo, who died in 2001 & 2000, respectively, in Homer?

    • This Katie Waitman you are looking for is from Anchorage Ak and is in the bay area now and was Katie Frey prior to returning to her maiden name.

      • Dear llo,

        Thank you very, very much. (So at one point there were TWO Katie Waitmans in Anchorage.) I would like to drop this Katie a note, as I remember her parents very well, but Katie only as a toddler. Do you have any hints where in the Bay Area I might find her?

    • Bruce,
      I am Katies brother, the son of Norma and Stan. I realize this thread was posted 3 years ago, but maybe you will read it someday. Write back with contact info.

  7. I realize that this is an old thread, but I, too, have a deep love for Katie Waitman’s books and wish that she would write more.
    The above link to the Chicocon interview, is now available at Archive.org, and also says that she had a sequel to The Merro Tree, The Roots of Forgiveness, which was penned but not published.

    A link from <a href="http://www.sff.net/campbell-awards/97auth.htm#waitman"Sff.net has her e-mail address (further down on the page) at USC, and their website lists her as an administrative assistant in the Law School.

    I’m not much of a blogger or letter writer, but am sorely tempted to ask her to publish online. Please let me know what you hear if you do contact her. Thanks!

  8. I’m alive and well. I do still write sometimes but I no longer have an agent (my original agent passed away and my subsequent agent was not as keen on my work so we parted ways). I may publish again but don’t currently have anything planned.

    • Hello,

      you don’t know how gratified I am that my humble post has drawn you out of hiding. I hope, despite life never turning out the way we would like it to, that you are well. I also hope you are still writing. There is still an audience for your books.

      These days traditional publishing hasn’t gone the way of the dodo, but it has changed. Anyone can write a hit book now. I’m currently reading Wool by Hugh Howey, and this novel started life as a serial on amazon’s kindle brand. Another blogger that I like to follow, Rob Kroese, has successfully penned a trilogy about a troublesome angel. Perhaps this is something you might consider, if you still have things to say. I, for one, am looking forward to finding out the further adventures of Mikk.

      Regards,

      Sam

    • I thought I would never have the chance to tell you this, but The Merro Tree kept me alive and warm during the worst times of my life. I had a troubling time in high school, during which I was bullied mercilessly and had to go home to an even more horrifying household. I had considered a final solution, but I came across a list of recommendations where your book was mentioned. It had been a few years since it was published, and I was told that my chances of finding it were slim. But I remained diligent in my search and after seven months I was able to find a copy squirreled away in a little independent book store.

      I locked myself in my room, put my headphones on, and read it, start to finish without a single break. I couldn’t put it down. I laughed, I cried, I cursed, and I cried some more, but my tears were of happiness. It was the most beautiful book I had ever read, and it gave me hope, that someday I too would become accepted and loved by all.

      So thank you, Ms. Waitman. I’m glad to know you are well, and even if you no longer publish your stories, please keep writing.

    • I’m here to chime in that it is so great to see your presence somewhere. I have both Merro Tree and Divided and have longed for more. I’m sorry that circumstances became so complicated and hope things resolve so that we are able to immerse ourselves in your world(s) again.

  9. Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I’m very glad that my books have touched people (even if, according to the sales sheets, not a huge number!). I do continue to write, but I don’t currently have anything that I plan to publish.

    Katie Waitman

    • Katie,

      Just one more person expressing thanks for your writing. I don’t know how the public library here in Ithaca, NY happened to get both of your books, but I’m glad they did, as they touched me deeply. It would be nice to have a way to be notified if you ever decided to publish again.

      Wishing you the best in all of your endeavors,
      Marvin

    • I know the postings here are months in between, and I have no idea if you’ll ever even see this. But in case you ever do, I wanted you to know how important The Merro Tree is to me. It’s one of the books that opened up a whole other world for me, both in terms of writing and the wonderful chosen family I gained through the person who recommended it to me (and who loves it even more than I do). I’m glad to hear that you are well, and continue to write. I hope someday, if you feel comfortable publishing once again, to hold the sequel in my hands at last. Take care.

    • Hello!

      I’m not sure if you’ll come back to read this, but it actually took me a grand total of 10 to 15 minutes to figure out something more to say beyond the squealing I did that Alan was able to find where you had responded to comments about your writing. I’m a huge fan of the Merro Tree. I found it so long ago ( or what seems like that in 2006 ) in High School and it has been my number one recommendation, and has remained my favorite stand alone book. I’ve searched and pined for a second book… I cannot contain how much I love this book, how it’s touched me, how amazing it is… There are not enough adjectives! I am so happy to hear that you are still writing and I hope beyond measure that there is some manner of Master Mikk in your stories still. Or more in that “world”. I could say more, but I’ll finish with a simple thank you. The book was ( and still is ) amazing and I, as an aspiring Novelist, hope to have the same affect on someone as you have had on me.

      Best wishes and happy writing!

    • Hello! I don’t know if you’ll still get this so many years later, but I want you to know you were one of the authors who inspired me to pursue writing queer fiction and become an author myself. I still look for your books every time I’m in a bookstore, just in case I discover you’ve published something since. If you ever *do* publish anything else, as ebook or through a small publisher or anything else, I can promise you’ll have me as a reader, at the least (and that I’d do my best to promote it as well!) Mikk is still one of the heroes who deeply influenced me, and your books were so, so important to me as a teenager. Hope you are well.

  10. I love Merro Tree and The Divided, and occasionally look for any new books by Katie Waitman… at least all the copies of her works that sold have had such a penetrating impact on the readers… If I keep returning to The Merro Tree, it is because I loved the character so much and it stands out from all the other sci fi I read at that time. Honestly, you should republish them… They would probably have a better audience today than when they were first published…

  11. Katie-
    I am just finishing my annual re-read of Merro Tree. It has gotten me through many bad times, and is the one book that continues to give me hope for the future. I am so glad to find that you are still writing and like others hope that you will publish in future. Thank you for your writing

    beth

Leave a Reply

