Songs I Don’t Hear

Chickadees have invaded the steps outside my apartment. They crowd the warped railing, chitter among the cheap wood. They gambol and gyre. Their presence is good. Maybe the wasps that like to loiter at the front door will go away.

4 responses to “Songs I Don’t Hear

  1. you are lucky – to be surrounded by birds. 🙂
    i love the sound of birds – i have a quite few of them in the back of my house too. they are always welcome as far as i am concerned.

  2. Gyre is good…very good. I’ve banked that.

    But “They crowd on the warped railing” seems better without the ‘on’.

    Perhaps just personal taste though, no offence like 🙂

  3. Thank you, mantecanaut. I find that you are right. Feedback is always appreciated. I have only one set of eyes, though the myriad of voices in my head disagree, heh. For posterity (I sometimes wonder if it’s possible to have a body of work that reveals the work in progress as started from beginning to end, like a first to final draft symposium, without seeming like a collection of drafts), I am going to copy n paste the earlier draft as a reply:

    Chickadees have invaded the steps outside my apartment. They crowd on the warped railing, chitter among the cheap wood. They gambol and gyre. Their presence is good. Maybe the wasps that like to loiter at the front door will go away.

Leave a Reply

