One Man’s War

When the blood ran off his hands the war was over, and he turned his eyes to the vast, burning wasteland that marked his wake. He sighed and wiped the dead from his face, the gristle and blood falling inconsequentially onto the crimson soaked earth.

It was time to go home.

He stared at the horizon, a statue slowly sending shadow spreading with the sun’s descent. Then he ran, pounding steadfast past corpses, leaping nimbly across the eviscerated, hurtling on the tips of his toes as an avalanche of putrefying meat and rusting paraphernalia of war filled his field of vision, sending nanotech bullets into the hordes of over-ambitious scavengers tearing at the decay, reeling himself up a sheer cliff face as highly militarised alien technology silvered through the effluvia below, loping through the healing country past the bursts of wildflower and dancing insects that push from the vibrant grass, falling in a dream that shakes him awake on a cold cave floor, brushing his fingers ecstatically on the rippling wheat rolling on to the horizon that flashes as the sun sinks from view.

The thatched cottage, luminous in constellation light, sent out waves of warm heat and scent. He sank to his knees, the long strobe of days heavy on his flesh and soul. His eyes filled with the light. His voice was hoarse as he yelled at the golden vision that seemed magically there, his leaden legs finally propelling him forward to embrace her in a whirling hug sparkling with tears and litanies of love.

5 responses to “One Man’s War

  1. I’m still coming to terms with the lines describing the war scene. I could almost smell the stench.

    Maybe if I revisit in a few days, I could let go of the vividly vicious picture you painted and appreciate the last paragraph better. Maybe…

    P.S: Thank you for including me on your blogroll. Much, much honored! What does 1356 actually mean though?

    • I’m glad you liked it. I’m having a hard time knowing whether my words show the same thing I am seeing to my readers but it looks like I didn’t do a bad job of it. Your blog is ferociously kinky. I’m not very good at erotica (my few attempts, if it can be called erotica have been farcial like my crazy wife and the sequel.

      As for that, I have not had the time to de-clutter my blogroll. That random number is what happens when I forget to assign a category to the blog. Sorry 😀

Leave a Reply

